United Nations Commission on the Status of Women


Theodora Pong

Cite as

Committee: United Nations Commission On The Status Of Women

Topic: 1. Women and Sports 2. Women Migrant Labour Rights

Country: Malaysia

Malaysia is a federal constitutional elective monarchy, and the only federation in Southeast Asia. It comprises of 13 large states and 3 different federal territories. With an area about 329,847 square kilometers, the Malaysian land is divided into two parts, namely Malaysian Borneo and Peninsular Malaysia. The country is multi-ethnic and multi-cultural, which plays a large role in politics. About half the population is ethnically Malay, with large minorities of Malaysian Chinese, Malaysian Indians, and indigenous peoples. The constitution declares Islam the state religion while allowing freedom of religion for non-Muslims. The official and national language of Malaysia is Bahasa Melayu. English remains an active second language, with its use allowed for some official...